New York Times Feed

    Jordan, June 19, 2017
    New ministers sworn in as PM reshuffles team

    A Royal Decree was issued on Sunday approving a reshuffle in Prime Minister Hani Mulki’s government.

    The newcomers included Hala Lattouf for the social development portfolio, Jamil Ali Salim Mujahed as transport minister, Muhannad Shehadeh as minister of state for investment affairs and head of the Jordan Investment Commission (JIC), and Saleh Kharabsheh as minister of energy and mineral resources.

    Appointed upon Mulki’s recommendation, they replaced three outgoing ministers of social development, Wajih Azaizeh, energy and mineral resources, Ibrahim Saif, and transport, Hussein Al Souob.

    Shehadeh replaced Thabet Al Wir, who also resigned last week as JIC chief.

    A Royal decree was issued last week accepting the ministers’ resignation.

    The ministers were sworn in before His Majesty King Abdullah at Al Husseiniya Palace in the presence of Mulki and Royal Court Chief Fayez Tarawneh.

    On January 15, Prime Minister Hani Mulki carried out a major reshuffle of his second government that saw five ministers joining the team, and seven out.

    Mulki was first designated as prime minister in May 2016 and following the September election in of the same year, he was asked to form a new government, which won the confidence of the newly elected House.

    The resignation of the three ministers was linked to their performance amid efforts led by the King to reform the public sector.

    His Majesty has recently held a series of meetings with concerned officials to follow up on the progress of government plans in the fields of renewable energy, transportation and human resources development, among others.

    His Majesty has also made an unannounced visit to a training centre for people with disabilities recently, where he issued directives to improve the quality of services offered to this segment of citizens.